Memorial Meeting for Prof Abdus Salam’s 90th Birthday

Memorial Meeting for Prof Abdus Salam

Abdus Salam was one of the most prolific and exciting scientists of the second half of the last century. From humble beginnings in a village in Pakistan, he rose to become one of the world’s most original and influential particle physicists. He shared the 1979 Nobel Prize with Glashow and Weinberg for contributions to electroweak unification, which forms an integral part of the Standard Model. He was the first Pakistani Nobel Laureate and the second only Muslim after Anwar Sadat. After gaining his doctorate in Cambridge, he moved to Imperial College in 1957 where he founded the very successful Theoretical High Energy Physics Group. He remained there as Professor of Physics until his death in 1996.

Salam believed that “scientific thought is the common heritage of all mankind” and that the developing world should play its part, not merely by importing technology but by being the arbiter of its own scientific destiny. In 1964, he founded the ICTP in Trieste, where thousands of scientists from developing countries have been trained and to which many would return as visitors to benefit from its top-class research environment. With his boundless energy, he was engaged in so many more aspects of science and education but also in the political arena: a strong voice from the developing world with a base in the Western world that could not be ignored. Abdus Salam was a visionary, a cultural amphibian, equally at home in the developing world and on the global stage.

Lars Brink Chalmers University of Technology
Michael Duff Imperial College London
Kok Khoo Phua Institute of Advanced Studies, NTU

Belal Baaquie National University of Singapore
Leong Chuan Kwek Institute of Advanced Studies, NTU
Hwee Boon Low Institute of Advanced Studies, NTU
Mirza Mohammed Ali Namazie National University of Singapore
Lock-Yue Chew Nanyang Technological University
Shuyan Xu National Institute of Education
Choo Hiap Oh National University of Singapore

Ahmed Ali DESY
Francis Allotey African Institute for Mathematical Sciences
Eric Bergshoeff University of Groningen
Ali Chamseddine American Univ, of Beirut
Pisin Chen National Taiwan University
Robert Delbourgo University of Tasmania
Michael Duff Imperial College London
Sergio Ferrara CERN
Harald Fritzsch Ludwig Maximilians University
Christian Fronsdal University of California, Los Angeles
Kazuo Fujikawa RIKEN
David Gross University of California, Santa Barbara (Nobel Laureate in Physics 2004)
Chris Hull Imperial College London
Tasneem Zehra Husain
Peter Jenni CERN
Anthony Leggett University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Nobel Laureate in Physics 2003)
Madumbai Narasimhan Indian Institute of Science (IISc)
Jordan Nash Imperial College London
Jogesh Pati SLAC, Stanford University
Fernando Quevedo ICTP
Eliezer Rabinovici The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Muneer Rashid National University of Science and Technology
Carlo Rubbia CERN (Nobel Laureate in Physics 1984
Stefano Ruffo SISSA
Qaisar Shafi University of Delaware
Kellogg Stelle Imperial College London
Hirotaka Sugawara Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology
Gerard ‘t Hooft Universiteit Utrecht (Nobel Laureate in Physics 1999)
George Thompson ICTP
Miguel Virasoro National University of General Sarmiento
Jim Virdee Imperial College London
Spenta Wadia Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
Peter West King’s College London
Arnulfo Zepeda Mesoamerican Centre for Theoretical Physics



Click here for the poster and here for photo gallery of the event.


Day I:

Introduction by Michael Duff
Carlo Rubbia (CERN)
Gerard ‘t Hooft (Universiteit Utrecht)
Michael Duff (Imperial College London)
Lu Yu (Institute of Physics, CAS)
Chris Hull (Imperial College London)
Kazuo Fujikawa (RIKEN)
Peter West (King’s College London)
Tasneem Zehra Husain (Theoretical physicist and writer)
Qaisar Shafi (University of Delaware)

Day II:

Tejinder Virdee (Imperial College London)
Peter Jenni (CERN)
David Gross (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Jogesh Pati (SLAC, Stanford University)
Hirotaka Sugawara (Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology)
Anthony Leggett (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign)
Eliezer Rabinovici (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Fernando Quevedo (ICTP)

Day III:

Eric Bergshoeff (University of Groningen)
Sergio Ferrara (CERN)
Robert Delbourgo (University of Tasmania)
Jordan Nash (Imperial College London)
Ali Chamseddine (American University of Beirut)
Kellogg Stelle (Imperial College London)
Spenta Wadia (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research)
Francis Allotey (African Institute for Mathematical Sciences)
Christian Fronsdal (University of California, Los Angeles)

Day IV:

Miguel Virasoro (National University of General Sarmiento)
Ahmed Ali (DESY)
George Thompson (ICTP)
Madumbai Narasimhan (Indian Institute of Science)
Stefano Ruffo (SISSA)
Arnulfo Zepeda (Mesoamerican Centre for Theoretical Physics)
Muneer Rashid (National University of Science and Technology)
Harald Fritzsch (Ludwig Maximilians University)
Closing Remarks by Lars Brink Chalmers (Institute of Technology)


Source: Special thanks to Nanyang Technological University